Paleo Transitions and Ortega Burgers

Little Sister and her husband have been going Paleo for two weeks now. Some people would think that after two weeks, it must be easy. Oh, do you have another thing coming! It is easy, yes, to cook Paleo. It is easy to eat Paleo. I do not feel like I am missing anything in my meals. But – the cravings! Oh, the cravings! I knew I was addicted to sugar, but just let me be!!! I have been craving sugar like mad. I am trying to really limit my fruit intake so that I don’t get too much sugar off the bat, but it is super hard! Every time I go to the grocery store or the gas station, I just want to pick up a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup and mow down on it! I just want to bake cookies and cupcakes! I want to smother my Paleo Bread in honey… I just want sugar. When it gets overwhelming, I have a couple grapes or a small apple or a few tablespoons of pomegranate seeds. It  immediately helps, and I have finally realized how sweet fruit really is.

But – I don’t want to be a slave to sugar any more. Which means I also have to just get over these cravings and not always soothe them with fruit. Oh, the agony!

Surprisingly, it’s not just me either. I thought my husband would have no problem giving up sugar, as I didn’t realize how much he was getting each day before we started this. Surprise, surprise! The other day I was making a tincture and pulled out the honey for it. He stood there drooling and told me he just wished he had a straw so he could drink all 3 pounds of it! I guess it’s not just me!

So – has it been easy… at times. It has also been hard at times. I am really hoping that we get over these cravings in the next two weeks, because I can’t handle these for much longer than that.

But – on that note, I have a really great recipe to share with you!

We have a local Brewery that we love to go to – great beer (they even have a gluten free pear cider on tap!), decent food and a wonderful
atmosphere. The only problem is, now that we are grain free and dairy free, and we aren’t eating potatoes either, our favorite foods (and beer) to order are now off limits. They would be made just way too boring to order.

So – I decided to make our favorite Brewery food at home, and to make it Paleo. So – what is our favorite thing to order? Ortega burgers and fries, hold the bun! Here is my Paleo version… ps… I had just as hard of a time not stuffing myself as I usually do at the Brewery!

Our menu: Paleo Ortega Burgers, Garlic Sweet Potato Fries, and Roasted Cauliflower Broccoli. I will include a recipe for each of these
below!

Paleo Ortega Burger

  • 1 lb. ground beef (preferably organic,
    grass-fed)
  • 1 egg
  • ¼ c. almond flour
  • 4 oz. diced green chilies
  • 1/8 tsp. each, sea salt and pepper
  • ½ tsp. cumin
  • 7 oz. can of whole green chilies, slice each chili open so it lays flat
  • Leaf lettuce
  • Sliced tomato
  • Avocado, sliced

Mix the first 6 ingredients together by hand in a medium bowl. Form into patties. Cook in skillet to desired done-ness. When cooked to your liking, create your beautiful burger: Lay a leaf of lettuce on your plate and top it with chipotle mayonnaise (recipe below) and sliced tomato. Lay your burger on top of this and top off with a whole green chili. Either place your avocado somewhere in the pile, or eat it on the side.

Chipotle Mayonnaise

  • ¼ c. mayonnaise [I actually made my own mayonnaise! It is so simple!]
  • Dash of garlic granules
  • Dash of onion powder
  • Pinch of sea salt
  • 1/8 tsp. chipotle powder

Mix all ingredients together in a small bowl until well combined. Use it as a condiment for your burger or as a dip for your fries and roasted veggies! This is really good if you throw in some diced green chilies as well! (I’m a little obsessed with green chilies!)

Sweet Potato Fries

  • 3-4 sweet potatoes, cut into stick fries
  • Sea salt and pepper
  • Olive oil for drizzling
  • 5-8 cloves garlic (We love garlic, so I used half a head), coarsely chopped
  • 8 leaves basil, coarsely chopped and small
  • 2 Tbsp. olive oil

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Place all of your sweet potatoes on a cookie sheet (with rims) and season with salt and pepper to your liking. Drizzle with 1-2 Tbsp. olive oil and mix until all of the fries are
coated. Place in oven and roast for 15-20 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the potatoes are soft. Meanwhile, mix the garlic, basil and remaining 2 Tbsp. olive oil in a small bowl. Once potatoes are soft, combine this mixture with the fries and put back into the oven for an additional 5 minutes. Remove from oven and serve!

Roasted Cauliflower and Broccoli

  • 1 small head cauliflower, cut into florets
  • 1-2 small heads broccoli, cut into florets
  • Sea salt and pepper
  • Garlic granules (or powder), or the real thing, coarsely chopped
  • Olive oil for drizzling

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Toss veggies with salt, pepper and garlic granules to your liking. Drizzle with olive oil and mix until they are all well coated. Put in about 5 minutes after you put your sweet potato fries in. Roast for 15-20 minutes, stir occasionally. Remove from oven and serve!

Overall, a wonderful meal that was difficult to stop eating!

This entry was posted in Dairy Free, Eat Local, Gluten Free, Grain-Free, Grass-Fed, Main Dishes, Paleo, REAL Food, Recipes, Sides, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Paleo Transitions and Ortega Burgers

  1. Pingback: Elektrische Zahnbuerste

  2. Pingback: Menu Plan – 2 Weeks’ Worth | two sisters gluten free

Leave a Reply

