The Little Sister’s Breakfast Grain Mix

Most mornings I wake up and make myself some eggs for breakfast – in many different combinations – usually with vegetables, sometimes a little meat… scrambles, omelets, fried. I love them! But it is really easy to get sick of eggs when you eat them almost every morning. So – I like to have a little mix of whole grains that I can have for those mornings (or for lunch like today!) when I am just egged out!

Doesn't this look just wholesome and delicious!

So, how do I make it? Simple!

The Little Sister’s Breakfast Grain Mix

serves: 2-3

  • 1/2 c. amaranth
  • 1/4 c. red quinoa
  • 1/8 c. teff
  • 1/8 c. millet
  • 3 c. water
  • up to 1/8 c. dried fruit of your choice

Place all ingredients in a medium saucepan, bring to a low boil, cover and simmer until all the water is gone and grains are soft, about 15-20 minutes. Serve with cinnamon and applesauce and enjoy!

Variations: 1) Use frozen fruit in place of or in addition to the dried fruit. 2) add fresh fruit to your bowl when serving. 3) If you need a little more sweetness, use honey to sweeten to your liking. 4) Top with hemp seeds, pumpkin seeds or your favorite! 5) or do all of the above!

Pre-Mixed Breakfast Grains

I like to make a bunch of this mix ahead of time, so I can just pour some into a pan and go. I also like to soak my grains before I use them (especially the quinoa, since it has saponins that you want to rinse off!)… so I try to plan ahead, and measure out what I need and soak it overnight. It cuts down a little bit on the cooking time the next morning, and also starts to sprout the seeds which helps with digestion. With the pre-mixed grains, just measure out what you want for your meal, and cook it in 3 times the water. I usually make about 1/3 cup of grain mix for myself, which means I cook it in 1 cup of water.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dairy Free, Food Intolerances, Gluten Free, Recipes, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Little Sister’s Breakfast Grain Mix

  1. Sounds so wholesome and delicious! Love the idea of mixing the grains in a mason jar -definitely a time saver!! Can’t wait to see more :)

Leave a Reply

