Wayfare Foods – Product Review

Disclaimer: This is not a paid review, the products were sampled for free at the Natural Products Expo, as well as purchased by me. All opinions expressed within are entirely my own.

As we were wandering around the Natural Products Expo in LA a couple weekends ago, we found so many amazing products and companies that we had never heard of, and products that were so great! I was so surprised and intrigued by some of them… including this company – Wayfare Foods.

Wayfare Foods puts out vegan dairy substitutes that are soy-free as well! Let me tell you how wonderful it was to find them. I love dairy – I grew up in Wisconsin after all, and at one point my Mom worked at a cheese factory, and I babysat for the owners! I love cheese! So finding out that I was dairy intolerant was extremely difficult (and still is!)

When I have a hankering for some good sharp cheddar or pepperjack cheese, I have to lock myself in the house so I don’t go buy some and eat the whole brick! Okay, so I exaggerate a little:) But, over the years I have spent some time looking for decent alternatives. I’ve tried some of the rice cheeses and soy cheeses, and even went so far as to try some tofu “cream cheese”… sorry, it just didn’t do it for me! And now that I am needing to stay away from soy, even those alternatives aren’t really options for me.

So – finding a non-dairy, non-soy, gluten free cheese alternative that actually tasted pretty darn great was awesome! Wayfare Foods puts out “cheese”-style spreads and sauces, a “sour cream” (which I unfortunately have not tried yet), and pudding!

Wayfare Foods' "cheese"-style spreads & dips

I am a big fan of their “We Can’t Say It’s Cheese” spreads and sauces! In the last couple weeks I’ve used it in my omelets, with chips as dip, mixed it in with my chorizo & eggs or veggie scrambles (I’m a big egg & cheese kind of person if you can’t tell!), and on sandwiches. I love that it is made with oats (though some gluten intolerant folks can’t handle it, at the moment, I can!), and it is certified gluten free by GFCO!

Next time you visit your local Whole Foods, Lassen’s or other natural foods store, check these out!

My favorite flavor so far… I think I’d have to say I really like their mexi-cheese dip and their cheddar spread, though I think my sister would say their Hickory Cheddar is the best!

This entry was posted in Dairy Free, Food Intolerances, Gluten Free, Product Reviews, Sides, Snacks, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wayfare Foods – Product Review

  1. Pingback: Happy Cinco de Mayo and Daiya Vegan Cheese Review! | two sisters gluten free

Leave a Reply

