Eye Opener – make mine with parsley please!

imbibed with peace and goodness!

Did you think I was talking about coffee?

Well you’re right on one level. This tale does begin with my long-standing love affair with coffee. I remember so vividly when it started. I was 20 years old, living high in the mountains in Colorado. I had a big day ahead – work at 6am at the bagel shop, the lunch relief shift at the ski area, a two hour drive down to Denver to pick up a friend at the airport, an adventure through the heart of the city to the bus station to pick up another friend, and then two hours back up into the mountains. I could feel the impending exhaustion!

The pungent aroma of coffee has always been alluring to me; the taste and flavor, that was a whole different story… nothing a bit of cream and sugar couldn’t fix!

Six cups and four hours later, I took off for job #2. Those next few hours flew by and I don’t think my mouth stopped once in that time. The day ultimately went off without a hitch. Coffee permeated my being… and I kind of liked it! 🙂

Fast forward 14 years later, I’ve both, willingly and unwillingly, given up coffee for various lengths of times and find myself in an undesirable predicament. I must give up coffee!

Why? Well here’s a little list I’ve compiled in my head:

1) One shot of expresso before 1030am wires me so strongly that I can’t fall asleep until 11-12pm

2) I wake up sleepy the following day and often get the afternoon slumps

3) I don’t eat much when I’ve had coffee nor do I eat balanced meals, which further throws off my blood sugar and adds to the jittery feeling

4) The skin on my head feels tight and my mind races

Is that enough, or should I think of more?

5) Coffee is #1 cross-reactive food for people with gluten sensitivity and intestinal permeability (which I have to some degree)

Ok – that’s enough! I get it! But what is this whole piece about Eye Opener with parsley? Well in taking steps toward life without coffee I’ve discovered a delicious greens drink from a local juice bar – the Eye Opener – beets, kale, ginger and apple (with my add-on: parsley). It’s the perfect blend of earthy, pungent, sweet, bitter, and heaven! Plus it looks cool!

So here are some pictures and a recipe from my first ever homemade Eye Opener Extraordinaire:

Ingredients: 2 apples, 2 beets, 2-3 leaves of kale, small handful of parsley, 1 inch piece of ginger

fresh organic ingredients

Directions: Slowly feed pieces of fruit and vegetable into juicer. Clean up and enjoy!!!!

Beets – provide antioxidant, anti-inflammatory, and detoxification support. Beets are also an excellent source of hearth-healthy folate and a very good source of the antioxidant manganese and heart-healthy potassium. Beets are a good source of digestive-supportive dietary fiber, free radical scavenging vitamin C and copper, bone-healthy magnesium, and energy-producing iron and phosphorus.

Kale – provides antioxidant, anti-inflammatory and detoxification support. It has a cholesterol-lowering ability. It is very high in flavonoids(researchers have identified more than 45 different types). Kale is an excellent source of vitamin A (in the form of carotenoids), vitamin C, and manganese; a very good source of copper, tryptophan, calcium, vitamin B6, and potassium; and a good source of iron, magnesium, vitamin E, vitamin B2, protein, vitamin B1, folate, phosphorous, and vitamin B3.

Apples – contains phytonutrients and flavonoids that help regulate blood sugar. It is high in vitamin C and fiber.

Parsley – provides support from various flavonoids and beneficial oils. Parsley is an excellent source of vitamin A, vitamin C, and vitamin K. It is a good source of iron and folate. Parsley’s volatile oil components include myristicin, limonene, eugenol, and alpha-thujene. Its flavonoids include apiin, apigenin, crisoeriol, and luteolin.

Ginger – provides antioxidant and anti-inflammatory support, alleviates symptoms of gastrointestinal distress. It is a good source of potassium, magnesium, copper, manganese and vitamin B6.

Nutritional profiles provided by The World’s Healthiest Foods

This entry was posted in Beverages, Dairy Free, Eat Local, Eat Seasonal, Food Intolerances, Gluten Free, Grain-Free, Paleo, REAL Food, Recipes, Snacks, Sugar-Free, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

