BBQ’d Venison

Basic BBQ'd Venison and Citrus Kale Salad

I am a huge fan of game meats! I grew up on venison and wild turkey, and love being able to have loads of venison in my freezer… unfortunately, neither my husband nor I are hunters (yet!), so that only happens when my parents (or other loving family members) get an extra deer and are kind enough to give us some of the extra meat… This year was one of those years. I love looking in my freezer and seeing pounds of home-butchered venison just waiting to be crafted into delightful meals!

When we butcher the deer, we always have stew meat, roasts, steaks, tenderloin and then a bunch of ground venison. I love making it into gourmet burgers with olives, jalapenos and sauteed onions, garlic and mushrooms. Talk about heaven.

But – my go to meal for the ground venison lately (especially when I’m a little late on thinking up dinner and have to pull it out of the freezer minutes before using it!) has been to barbecue it up like sloppy joes. Now – the recipe that follows is a basic guide. I have never actually fully measured this, and it turns out different everytime, as it always depends on the mood I’m in as to what gets put in it. It always turns out good, so I will put a little note at the bottom of some of the options that I put in it…

This basic guide also works great for ground beef – I pretty much do the same for either!

BBQ’d Venison

  • 1 lb. ground venison (we do about 10% fat content)
  • 1 onion, sliced thin or diced
  • 3 large garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 carrot, grated
  • 1/2 c. GF ketchup
  • 2 Tbsp brown mustard
  • 1 Tbsp prepared horseradish
  • 1 Tbsp tomato paste
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • olive oil for pan

Heat olive oil in a cast iron skillet over medium heat. Add onion and saute until translucent, about 2-3 minutes. Add garlic and saute until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add ground venison and cook until brown, adding carrots about half-way through cooking the venison. Once venison is completely browned, put all the other ingredients in the pan, and mix together. You may need to add a little more ketchup if you like a saucier and sweeter sloppy joe.

Again, this is a basic guide. I never measure, and just throw whatever I feel like adding in. Some of the options I have added, in random combinations include: grated beets, sun-dried tomatoes, olives, sweet chili sauce, tamari, lots of extra horseradish if I want a more pungent bite.

One of these days I am going to try to make my own ketchup so that there aren’t as many “extras” in there and not so much sweetness as well, but until that day comes… This is what you get!

Hope you enjoy!

If you like the looks of the Citrus Kale Salad in the picture, you can find the recipe here

(ps… I’m having trouble getting my other photos in, so I will try to update this with another couple pictures later… until then…)

This entry was posted in Dairy Free, Eat Local, Gluten Free, Grain-Free, Grass-Fed, Main Dishes, Paleo, REAL Food, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to BBQ’d Venison

  1. Pingback: Citrus Kale Addiction | two sisters gluten free

  2. Kristen says:

    Great! Thanks for sharing the recipe. 🙂 My husband is a hunter, so I’m hopeful he will restock our freezer this year….

  3. Jayne says:

    Looks amazing! thanks for sharing this!

  4. tastyeatsathome says:

    I love venison. It’s hard for us to come by, as we don’t have hunters in our family, but my dad’s neighbor hunts and gave him some venison a few months ago. We enjoyed every last bit of it!

Leave a Reply

