Happy Cinco de Mayo and Daiya Vegan Cheese Review!

Disclaimer: This is not a paid review, the product was sampled and purchased by me, of my own accord. All opinions expressed within are entirely my own.

Seeing as:

  1. I live so near to Mexico (here in San Diego),
  2. I love mexican food and
  3. I still have a half hour to celebrate

I thought I would share with you a favorite go-to stacked enchilada recipe and Daiya Vegan Cheeseproduct review all in one.

I LOVE cheese, like my Little Sister! And as you know, we grew up in Wisconsin. Heck, I even worked at a cheese factory in high school. Yes, the one my mom worked at. And yes, both of us Sisters babysat for them. :) So, anyway, fully eliminating dairy from my diet has proven to be the biggest challenge I have faced yet! Seriously harder than gluten, and I LOVED toast!

I’ve honestly only tried a couple other cheese alternatives – rice, soy, almond cheese – and I haven’t been impressed whatsoever! Though, after the Natural Product Expo in LA this year, I will say I truly enjoy Wayfare Foods dairy substitutes.

Then into my life comes Daiya. Daiya is described on their website as a “deliciously dairy-free vegan product that has an irresistible melt, stretch and taste.”  And, I would have to agree! I was pleasantly surprised!

Daiya Pepperjack Style Shreds

This vegan cheese is:

  • free of all animal products
  • trans fat free
  • cholesterol free
  • made from all natural ingredients
  • free of common allergens: dairy (casein and lactose), soy, gluten, eggs, peanuts and tree nuts (excluding coconut)
  • free of artificial ingredients
  • free of preservatives
  • free of hormones and antibiotics
  • certified kosher and vegan
  • GMO free

Ingredients

Filtered water, tapioca and/or arrowroot flours, non-GMO expeller pressed canola and /or non-GMO expeller pressed safflower oil, coconut oil, pea protein, salt, inactive yeast, vegetable glycerin, xanthan gum, vegan natural flavours, lactic acid (vegan, for flavor), spices, garlic, titanium dioxid (a naturally occurring mineral).

After opening the bag of Pepperjack Style Shreds I had to test it in its raw form. And?… Texturally, it was obviously not cheese, but based on taste, it had decent flavor. No weird aftertaste. (Though, you add some seasoning and nutritional yeast to cashew butter and I think you get something that tastes a bit like cheese as well…) So, onto the next part of the test – how would it taste in my stacked enchiladas? Would it truly melt like cheese? Would it still satisfy?

Simple Stacked Enchiladas

Well, as you can see, the shreds didn’t “melt” together so much on top BUT they did actually melt and had a nice soft texture. Though, texturally, it really is more reminiscent of a cheese spread, or velveeta, than real melted cheese. Yet, again, it did taste great, so the texture didn’t matter so much.

So, did I like Daiya? Overall, YES! It was a successful “replacement” for my beloved casein-laden-dairy-loaded-previously-enjoyed-stacked-enchiladas.

Would I recommend it? YES!

I will likely try it again (though, I would love to see it go down in price a little bit, or at least on sale, as it packs a punch at the checkout.) But, go out and pick up a bag to experiment. You will be pleasantly surprised!

Simple Stacked Enchiladas

  • 2 small shallots, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 lb. organic mince (beef, venison, buffalo, or turkey)
  • 1 1/2 tbsp. cumin
  • sea salt and ground pepper to taste
  • 1/2 bunch organic spinach, washed and destemmed
  • 1/2 can organic pinto beans, drained and rinsed
  • any additional vegetables of your choosing (I like to add whatever I have in the fridge at that time – carrots, broccoli, peppers…)
  • GF Enchilada Sauce or GF Salsa
  • organic corn tortillas or other GF tortilla
  • Daiya Pepperjack Style Shreds
Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Heat 1 tbsp. of olive oil in large saute’ pan over medium heat. Saute’ shallots until translucent. Add in mince, garlic, and firm vegetables (like carrots, broccoli…). Cook for about 4-5 minutes. Add cumin and remaining soft vegetables and pinto beans. Continue cooking until mince is fully cooked. Take off heat. In bottom of 8×8 baking dish, cover bottom with thin layer of enchilada sauce or salsa. Layer with row of tortillas. Top with generous amount of mince and vegetable mixture. Dot with enchilada sauce or salsa. Sprinkle with Daiya. Rinse and Repeat. :) Tortilla – Mince and vegetables – Sauce – Daiya. Rinse and Repeat (if you have enough ingredients left). Bake in oven for 30 minutes.


This entry was posted in Dairy Free, Gluten Free, Main Dishes, Product Reviews, Recipes, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

