A Chreesy Review of Road’s End Organics

Road’s End Organics 

Dairy Free, Gluten Free, Soy Free

Mac & Chreese (Alfredo Style)

Road's End Organics Mac & Chreese

Wow, that’s a mouthful! Pardon the pun!

I’ve eaten very little pasta since going gluten free, but when I saw this on the shelves at Whole Foods I couldn’t resist. Memories from my childhood came flooding back – times when Mom was away and Dad was in charge of our meal for the evening – Mac n’ Cheese and cutup hotdogs. In his defense, Dad is a fantastic cook now… and we loved those rare times when Mom was away and we got to partake in this cheesy deliciousness. 🙂

My health and nutrition studies over the last ten years have shown the dangers of artificial colors, chemical sweeteners, and other food additives. Even if I were not gluten free, I do not think I could bring myself to eat Kraft Mac ‘n Cheese knowing what is in that bright blue box. (I must share though that I am happy to see the UK taking the health of their people more seriously and requiring Kraft to reformulate their recipe to be free of artificial and chemical additives. The difference in the length and ingredients in the UK version versus the US version is astonishing! Paprika for coloring – brilliant!)

For those of us GFers – we now have a pretty tasty alternative in Roads End Organics Mac & Chreese. Here is the ingredient list – all of which are recognizable and relatively easy to pronounce:

Ingredients: GF Brown Rice Macaroni: Organic Brown Rice, Water. GF Alfredo Sauce Mix: Organic Brown Rice Flour, Organic Tapioca Starch, Enriched Nutritional Yeast (nutritional yeast, niacin, pyridoxine hydrochloride, riboflavin [vitamin B2], thiamine hydrochloride [vitamin B1], folic acid, vitamin B12), Organic Green Lentil Flour, Salt, Organic Garlic Powder, Organic Oregano, Organic Onion Powder and Organic Basil.

Mac & Chreese - Plain & Simple

I chose to have my first bowl of Chreesiness plain and simple, as Road’s End created it. The brown rice pasta took a fair bit longer than the instructions stated and still were a tad al dente… cooking pasta is not my forte’ apparently.
Adding the “chreese”, I found it actually had a cheesy quality to it. Looks like a good Mac n’ Cheese, doesn’t it?!

As for the taste – I personally don’t care much for the legume flours as they seem to have a bitter aftertaste. Though I did find that the further into the bowl I got, the less I tasted this bitterness and instead, enjoyed the lovely herbs and “chreesiness”.

I’m not much of a carb eater anymore, so this dish felt a little heavy and lacking… so I turned around the next day and dressed it up a bit!

Mac & Chreese - All Dressed Up!

Here I added broccoli, snow peas, yellow summer squash, zucchini squash, onions and capers. This was a “kitchen sink” of  DELICIOUSNESS!

So final statement:

I’m liking what I’ve tried so far! Road’s End kept it simple and offers us a tasty option that is not only gluten free, but soy free and dairy free as well! Go out and get some!

This entry was posted in Dairy Free, Gluten Free, Main Dishes, Product Reviews, Sides, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Chreesy Review of Road’s End Organics

  1. diayag says:

    I don’t know if vegan/gluten-free people have lost all sense of taste or forgotten what cheese tastes like. Based on another glowing review, and cheese yearning, I ordered a dozen package assortment of this. It smelled awful and tasted worse. Happily, I eventually found some honest reviewers (or ones with better memories) who admitted vegan cheese substitutes are lousy. AGREED. I have since tried another recommendation, Daiya, which is carried by the Wegman’s chain and others (I didn’t realize it wasn’t real cheese so wasn’t buying it) and have some other recommendations I will try from those reviewers who led me to Daiya. It tastes and even smells like cheese. This stuff does neither. My family’s big complaint about my going vegan has been the smell of my food and in this instance I heartily agree. I am forcing myself to use up the dozen I bought but – never again.

    • @diayag – remember that reviews are PERSONAL (honest) opinions. Everyone comes from a different set of experiences and memories around food and eating. I’m not sure any memory is better or worse, simply different. (Of course, we also have no affiliation or obligation to the company we are reviewing.)
      While I agree with you that Daiya does not smell or taste JUST like cheese, I personally, found this to be more palatable than other cheese alternatives I’ve tried. Does it satisfy me just as real cheese does, NO. But, if I’m really wanting a dish that calls for cheese, this seemed like the better choice. (My next experiment is using Cashew “cheese”. Great as a dip… not so sure how it will bake.)
      I admit, I have not bought Daiya since that first try, nor have I bought this Mac n Chreese (from the review above). I personally would rather not eat cheese or pasta, than be only mildly satisfied and yearning for something more.
      We, at Two Sisters, have actually gotten away from doing product reviews, as we both believe in REAL whole foods – more of a Traditional Foods approach. These products above are still processed and manipulated on some or many levels. We feel that, by doing reviews, we’ve been going against what we personally believe to be “healthy” eating.
      Our “diets” and food choices are incredibly personal, not only due to taste and texture preferences, but also due to our individual systems and how they physiologically respond to certain foods. Keep experimenting with yours (that’s what it’s all about after all). 🙂
      Sorry to hear you have to “suffer” through a whole case. Sometimes it’s impulsive purchases like this that we look back on and question ourselves as to why, but ultimately, they become our best teachers!
      Thank you for sharing your opinion!
      Have you checked out “A Gluten Free Vegan Mom Who Knows”? While I’m not vegan myself, I find that she has some good resources.

    • Grace says:

      I use the package of this cheese and use my own macaroni. I have seen bad reviews of this being grainy or slimy. I found it neither but then I know how to cook. They should include on the directions to use an immersion blender for this cheese. I also added a little more water than required because I don’t like it so thick. I think this is where the sliminess came in. By adding a little extra boiled water it made it perfect. The graininess came from not blending right. And as for the smell, all I can smell is the nutritional yeast which is okay with me. If you add broccoli to this you wouldn’t smell anything but broccoli. I used the Kid’s Chreese and added a pinch more salt. I love it. Does it taste as great as the one in the blue box – hell no, it also lacks all the chemical preservatives. I hate to say this but new vegans are tasting “real” tastes now – no chemicals. That is the difference. Non-vegans don’t know what food tastes like without the preservatives! May be there is your difference – we haven’t forgotten what cheese tastes like, our taste buds have become refined!

  2. Pingback: Organic Pasta Dinner Review Road’s End Organics® Organic Pasta Dinners | Honest Food Blog

  3. Robert says:

    I tried it and liked it. As a Vegan approaching his 25th year as such, I recently went Gluten free after reading “Wheat Belly”, and have noticed a marked drop in arthritic knee pain,
    The first tasting was without anything extra-liked it.
    Next was with a can of Navy Beans added- good.
    I found it in Walmart lake city, Florida for $3.12 per box. Priced it on Amazon {no shipping Prime account}, but their price was higher at $3.29 per box.

    If anyone knows of a cheaper per box price please let me know {bulk OK}

    Bob

  4. A. Burke says:

    I recently purchased this product for my 5 y/o daughter who has a milk allergy. The rice pasta did take a little longer to cook. I was impresses with the taste of the noodles. The Alfredo sauce was a different story. The smell was so strong and horrible. I can’t imagine just how bad this could have possible taste. I had to throw it out. I am a nurse. I have smelled lots of terrible odors. This ranks right up there with the worst!

  5. Elsie says:

    I actually like this Alfredo and my husband goes back for seconds of this. We don’t like their regular mac and chreese at all though, horrible. And we have always preferred brown rice pasta even though we don’t have to be gluten free.

Leave a Reply

