Oven Roasted Vegetable Quiche with a Potato and Sun-Dried Tomato Crust

First, I need to apologize! Little sister’s life has been more than insane these last few weeks, which means blogging has been put on hold. I have been thinking about you all every day, but as I fall exhausted into bed each night, I just can’t quite get myself to type anything up to post.

But – have no fear, as I have a few recipes that I have been enjoying creating that I now get to share with you. Up for today, we have an amazing roasted vegetable quiche. I have been on a quiche kick lately. They take a little bit of time to create, but they taste so amazing and are wonderful as leftovers, that I often make 2 large ones at a time and freeze one for lunches or just make a bunch of mini-quiches. They are so wonderful.

So how did this quiche come about? Well, we just had a great friend move in with us who is a vegetarian. Now, if you have read some of our other posts, you know that I am a huge meat-lover, and am slowly leaning toward a more paleo-style diet. So – vegetarian is a little tough for me sometimes. But – I will learn. That is one of my goals this summer… how to make yummy vegetarian dishes that are hearty and will keep me fueled for my crazy work and workouts!

It worked out great for tonight because we had a massive amount of leftover oven-roasted potatoes and an over-abundance of luscious vegetables from our CSA. So – why not make a quiche? Here was attempt number one at a yummy vegetarian meal, and I have to say that it is truly marvelous!

Besides being vegetarian, this is of course gluten free, dairy free, soy free, and corn free!

Fresh from the oven

Oven Roasted Vegetable Quiche with Potato and Sun-Dried Tomato Crust

Crust:

  • ¼ c. milk of your choice (I use coconut milk)
  • ¼ c. almond flour
  • 1 ½ c. oven-roasted potatoes (or you could just boil them)
  • 5 sun-dried tomato halves
  • 1 egg
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Olive oil for drizzling

Egg Mix:

  • 6 eggs
  • ¼ c. milk of your choice (I use coconut milk)
  • 1 sprig of fresh basil leaves, chopped

Vegetables: (I would just use whatever you have on hand in your refrigerator.  I used the following:)

  • ¼ of a red pepper, diced
  • ¼ of a white onion, sliced thin
  • 1 large radish, sliced thin
  • 1 medium carrot, sliced thin
  • 1 large patty pan squash, diced
  • 1 c. green beans, snapped into 1” pieces

Directions

Preheat oven to 425. Place all of the vegetables in a large roasting pan. Season with salt and pepper and drizzle with olive oil. Roast for 30-35 minutes until soft and starting to brown.

Fresh cut vegetables ready for roasting!

Place all of the crust ingredients in a food processor. Process until well combined. It is okay if there are still small chunks of potato. It adds flavorful character to the crust! Press the crust mixture into a pie pan using a spatula (it is too sticky to use your hands). Place in the oven with the roasting veggies and bake for 10 minutes.

In medium bowl, whisk together eggs, milk and basil. Set aside.

When vegetables are done turn oven down to 375. Fill the crust with the vegetables and then pour egg mixture over the vegetables. Place in middle of oven and bake 25-30 minutes until eggs are firm and starting to brown on top. Let sit for 5-10 minutes. Cut, serve and enjoy!

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Eat Local, Eat Seasonal, Gluten Free, Grain-Free, Main Dishes, REAL Food, Recipes, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

