No Pasta Spaghetti

Wow – can you say insanity?

That has been my life lately. I gained two roommates, lost one, my in-laws visited, my brother and nephew visited, I have a husband who is often MIA (due to his job), trying to work full-time and go to school full-time while also trying to eat healthy, exercise regularly and take care of myself. Oh, and we started a local pick-up ultimate frisbee league that meets once a week! As you can see, I haven’t been blogging. But – hopefully, that is going to change.

To start it off, I have a great idea for you. I love spaghetti. But – I don’t really like pasta. I’ve always felt like the pasta was just a vehicle for the sauce. I’ve always put way more sauce than pasta on my plate. So my plan was to figure out how to still have an excuse for spaghetti sauce without the pasta.

The solution – using thinly sliced vegetables for my pasta. Not to toot my own horn or anything, but this turned out brilliantly. I mean, just look at it! (ps… I’m a carnivore and I love my meat, especially when it’s venison, as it was in this sauce!)

So – here’s the recipe I created…

No Pasta Spaghetti

  • 5+ medium carrots, thinly sliced
  • 3+ medium zucchini, thinly sliced
  • 1 medium onion, thinly sliced
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • olive oil for the pan
  • sea salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • your favorite spaghetti sauce

Make your favorite spaghetti sauce (or heat up a jar of yumminess), and keep warm (my latest favorite easy scrumptious sauce to make is from Silvana Nardone’s Cooking for Isaiah). Thinly slice your veggies using a vegetable peeler or mandoline. Heat olive oil in a large cast iron pan over medium heat. Saute onions until translucent then add the garlic and saute 2 minutes more. Add your thinly sliced veggies and saute until they become slightly soft.

Place a big heap of veggies on a plate. Top with sauce, and lots of it! and Enjoy!

I really think that thinly sliced broccoli (especially the trunks of the broccoli heads) would be really tasty in this as well.

This is a great way to really enhance your veggie intake and make a beautiful yummy meal at the same time!

Let me know what you think…

This entry was posted in Dairy Free, Gluten Free, Grain-Free, Grass-Fed, Main Dishes, Paleo, REAL Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to No Pasta Spaghetti

  1. WOW!!! What a great idea!!! Definately a must try. Thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks Kelly! I think the original inspiration was trying to figure out what to do with the massive amount of carrots I had, and then that popped into my head. It turned out so awesome I just keep doing it!
      Smiles!
      Little Sister

  2. Chelsea Brannan says:

    Looks good! Don’t forget to try a Spaghetti squash if you haven’t yet, there’s sooooo good!

  3. kat says:

    Oh my goodness, that looks sooo yummy!! Have you tried Marcella Hazan’s simple tomato sauce? I love her sauce! It’s my go-to sauce because it only needs 3 ingredients! I did a post on it, please check it out and let me know what you think! I’m new to this blogging thing and I love checking out foodie blogs!
    http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/2011/07/16/i-want-me-some-meatballs-and-spaghetti/

  4. Yum! I haven’t thought to use carrots before, but I often make “pasta” out of zucchini and yellow squash. This will make some pretty pasta when my rainbow carrots are ready to harvest from my garden. πŸ˜€

    Heidi

  5. Jen says:

    I tired this tonight and adored it! Has a lot more flavor than pasta. I’m not even gluten free, jut wanted something different.

    • So wonderful to hear, Thank you for sharing!
      This inspires me (and hopefully others) to simply keep trying new things… “just because”…
      not just because I’m gluten-free and feel I have to, but “just because”
      πŸ™‚ Thank you Jen!

Leave a Reply

