Onion and Garlic Crusted Roast

I am a huge fan of venison. It is the one meat that I have fairly regular access to that I know has no antibiotics or hormones and limited pesticide residues. I feel good eating venison – knowing that the meat I am eating had a great life, was able to roam freely through the woods and was felled by an amazing person who respected it for what it was and its ability to feed our family. That means a lot to me.

That being said, I still eat beef, and don’t have a good source for local, organic, free-range beef, so I can’t say that I am always eating this well. But when I can, I do. I am a little sad, because I just used up my last venison roast last night. Such an enjoyable meal, but a sad thought knowing that I didn’t have any more in my freezer, and not sure when I will again.

So - in honor of eating that last venison roast last night, here is a wonderful roast recipe that I created a few months ago that I have been enjoying ever since. I have used this for both venison and beef, and it goes equally well with both.

Onion and Garlic Crusted Roast

  • 1 1/2 to 2 lb. roast (venison or beef)
  • 18 garlic cloves (12 whole, peeled and 6 macerated)
  • 1/4 of a large onion, macerated
  • 1 tsp. thyme
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp. pepper
  • 1-2 Tbsp. olive oil

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

In food processor, place 6 garlic cloves, onion, thyme, salt, pepper and olive oil. Process until well macerated and combined. Set aside.

Prepped herbs for roast

Place roast in an 8×8 baking dish. Cut 12 small slits into the top and sides of the roast, and insert whole, peeled garlic cloves inside each slit. Take garlic and onion mixture from food processor and spread over (and rub in) the roast.

If you so desire, spread cut up root vegies around your roast.

Bake 1 1/2 to 2 hours, until thermometer reads 160 degrees. Remove from oven. Let sit 10 minutes. Slice, serve and enjoy!

This entry was posted in Dairy Free, Eat Local, Eat Seasonal, Gluten Free, Grain-Free, Grass-Fed, Main Dishes, Paleo, REAL Food, Recipes, Traditional Foods and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Onion and Garlic Crusted Roast

  1. Kristen says:

    This looks really good. I’m always looking for great venison roast recipes. I know what you mean — my husband needs to restock our freezer this hunting season. :)

    • I hope your husband has great luck in restocking your freezer! Unfortunately, my husband doesn’t hunt (yet!), so we have to travel back to my parents place when they have extra and get some from them. They are awesome about sharing though, so it works out for now!
      Enjoy your roast Kristen!
      Smiles –
      The Little Sister

Leave a Reply

