Going Paleo – and a recipe too!

First – I need to apologize for the long hiatus. Hopefully that hiatus is over, and we will be back in action bringing you research, recipes and plain old, good gluten free fun!

So – the time has finally come…. Little Sister and her husband have decided to go Paleo. After years of thinking about it, researching it, and talking about it, we’ve finally jumped in and completely immersed ourselves in the Paleo lifestyle. With a couple small adaptations for the man! Since he tends to lose weight if he doesn’t get enough calories…

So – why would we go Paleo, you ask? Well… many reasons. The research that we have looked into seems to suggest that we will not only improve our health, but also look and feel better in the process. For me, going gluten free was a huge step! It turned my life around, and reminded me what it was like to actually feel good again – to get out of the depression that I was in, to feel better about myself, to enjoy life again! But – there were still some issues. My digestion improved a ton, but I still had stomachaches, the occasional bout of diarrhea and loose stools, bloating, and inflammation. I took dairy out of diet, and it helped a bit. I removed sugar (which was an on-and-off battle!), and that helped a lot, but I wasn’t committed to it.

Now – I am ready to feel 100% all the time! I no longer want to suffer from ANY digestive issues. I want to heal my digestive system and the rest of my body, and be truly happy, healthy and vibrant. And I feel like the best way for me to do that is through a Paleo-style diet and lifestyle. Thankfully, my husband has been feeling the same way, and was ready to make this shift. It is a much bigger change for him, and the shift has been a bit more difficult for him as well. He was actually crabby the other day – now, that is HUGE! I have been with my husband for over 9 years, and I have NEVER seen him crabby! WOW! But – he worked through it, got a lot of sleep, cranked up his calorie count, and is doing alot better now. And I like him a lot better now too!

So – not to make this too much longer, be prepared to hear a few things here and there about the Paleo diet, how we are adjusting, and why we are doing what we are doing.

But most importantly – the recipe!
This was my first foray into the land of Paleo foods. I was craving a creamy, hearty soup, and this was the result. Our good friend and neighbor, who eats a little more like most Americans, even said he would swap this soup for Beef Stroganoff any day, which is one of his favorite meals! Made my day! Without further ado…

Creamy Cauliflower and Roasted Beef Soup

  • 1/2 of a medium white onion, diced
  • 4-6 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3-4 c. chicken broth or bone broth
  • 1 cauliflower head, cut into florets
  • 1 hot pepper (optional)
  • 1.5 lbs. beef, cubed
  • 1 lb. mushrooms, quartered
  • 1 bunch kale, coarsely chopped
  • 1 c. coconut milk
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • sea salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Toss the cubed beef and quartered mushrooms in a roasting pan. Season with salt and pepper, drizzle with olive oil, and mix well. Roast in oven for 30 minutes.

While beef and onions are roasting, saute onions in olive oil in a large pot. Add garlic, hot pepper and cauliflower. Cook for 1 minute, stirring frequently. Add broth. Bring to boil, then let simmer until cauliflower is soft. Once the cauliflower is soft, add the coconut milk and blend all of the ingredients in a blender until well combined and smooth. It may take two batches in your blender depending on the size of your blender.

Continue cooking cauliflower mixture on low. When beef and mushrooms are done roasting, add them in to the soup with all of their juices. Throw in the chopped kale. Mix well. Simmer for 10 minutes.

Serve and enjoy!

This entry was posted in Dairy Free, Eat Local, Gluten Free, Grain-Free, Grass-Fed, Main Dishes, Paleo, REAL Food, Recipes, Soups, Traditional Foods and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

