Spicy Mongolian Beef Lettuce Wraps

I am a lover of most things sweet and spicy – THIS, I absolutely LOVE!

I came across a great recipe for Gluten Free Mongolian Beef over at Gluten Free Recipe Box, and I had to try it out! (Thank you Carla!!!!!)

I made a few adaptations along the way, turning it into a very refreshing, flavorful meal. (forgive the blurred photos, battery was low on my camera)

So, without further ado, here is my adapted (gluten free/paleo) version:

Spicy Mongolian Beef Lettuce Wraps

Ingredients

Meat:

1 ¼ lb. grass-fed top sirloin (or meat of your choice)
1 tbsp. coconut oil
2 large cloves garlic, sliced thin
2-3 inch piece of fresh ginger, peeled and minced
4 tbsp. gluten free tamari
2 tsp. rice wine vinegar
1 tbsp. filtered water
1 ½ tbsp. raw honey
¼ tsp. toasted sesame oil
1/8 tsp. Max’s Arbol Sesame Spicy Chile Pepper Blend (has a good tongue-tingling heat with great flavor)
3-4 scallions, whites only, sliced (slice and save green tops for fresh wraps)

Lettuce Wraps:

1 head of leaf lettuce (red or green), leaves separated, rinsed and drained
1 medium carrot, julienned (I have a Zyliss julienne peeler that works great!)
5 inch piece of daikon radish, julienned
½ yellow bell pepper, sliced thin
scallion greens, sliced (from above)
1/3 cup savoy cabbage, sliced thin
pickled ginger (The Ginger People make a good organic pickled sushi ginger, a little sweeter than I prefer – might have to start making my own)

Directions:

In large skillet, melt coconut oil and brown all sides of the beef, about 3-4 minutes per side. Remove meat from skillet and place on a cutting board to slice into thin strips (inside will still be raw).
Add ginger and garlic to oil in skillet. Saute’ for 1 minute. Add beef back to skillet and add remaining ingredients. Stir well to combine and let simmer until meat is carmelized with sauce, about 8-10 minutes.
Prep the ingredients for the lettuce wraps and arrange onto a platter, alongside the beef, for serving.
Wrap and Enjoy!!!!!

This entry was posted in Dairy Free, Eat Local, Gluten Free, Grass-Fed, Main Dishes, Paleo, REAL Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Spicy Mongolian Beef Lettuce Wraps

  1. You are very welcome! Your adaption sounds awesome! I like the idea of the honey flavor, though I like to use agave syrup or xylitol as a sub for sugar (due to my borderline diabetes). I see you like the heat. 🙂 Glad you enjoyed it!

  2. Kristy says:

    I think you two lovely ladies should start a 2012 get healthy challange for all of us readers. I need some motiviation & tips!

    xoxo
    Kristy

  3. Pingback: Homepage

Leave a comment